Remixes 2

Depeche Mode, Remodeled


The English trio Depeche Mode forged synth-pop in the 1980s, then scored massive hits in the 1990s with songs like “Personal Jesus” and “Enjoy the Silence.” Now, the group has enlisted a crew of wiz to rework its back catalog the collection “Remixes 2: 81-11.” Frontman Dave Gahan joins us to talk about the album, the band and his career. Check out the video below of the interview.

Depeche Mode – Remixes 2: 81-11 3CD

On 6 June 2011, Depeche Mode will release Remixes 2: 81-11 on Mute. An inspiring collection of new and classic mixes of material covering their entire career, the album includes remixes of tracks from their 1981 debut Speak And Spell, through to 2009’s Sounds Of The Universe, and is the follow-up to 2004’s million-plus selling Remixes 81-04. These remixes reinforce Depeche Mode’s standing as one of the world’s most influential and innovative acts.

Depeche Mode have been at the forefront of remix culture for the best part of three decades and this new compilation includes classic mixes from M83, UNKLE, Trentemøller, François Kervorkian and Dan The Automator, alongside all-new mixes from Stargate, Eric Prydz, Karlsson & Winnberg (from Miike Snow) and Röyksopp. In addition to this, the expanded editions include exclusive remixes by former band members Vince Clarke and Alan Wilder – the first time either artist has remixed tracks for their former colleagues.

Remixes 2: 81-11 will be available in two different CD formats – Single and Triple Disc versions, as well as digital download.

Highlights from the selection of classic mixes include reworkings of “Dream On” from 2001’s Exciter, “Suffer Well,” “John the Revelator” and “A Pain That I’m Used To” from 2006’s Playing The Angel and “In Chains,” “Peace” and “Wrong” from 2009’s Sounds Of The Universe, while the new mixes include “Tora! Tora! Tora!” and “Puppets” from 1981’s Speak And Spell, “Never Let Me Down Again” and “Behind The Wheel” from Music For The Masses as well as “A Question Of Time” from 1986’s Black Celebration. The lead single is “Personal Jesus”, from 1990’s Violator, also features several strong remixes as part of the package.


01. Dream On (Bushwacka Tough Guy Mix) (2001)
02. Suffer Well (M83 Remix) (2006)
03. John The Revelator (UNKLE Reconstruction) (2006)
04. In Chains (Tigerskin’s No Sleep Remix) (2011)
05. Peace (SixToes Remix) (2009)
06. Lilian (Chab Vocal Remix Edit) (2006)
07. Never Let Me Down Again (Digitalism Remix) (2006)
08. Corrupt (Efdemin Remix) (2009)
09. Everything Counts (Oliver Huntemann & Stephan Bodzin Dub) (2006)
10. Happiest Girl (The Pulsating Orbital Vocal Mix) (1990)
11. Walking In My Shoes (Anandamidic Mix) (1993)
12. Personal Jesus (The Stargate Mix) (2011)
13. Slowblow (Darren Price Mix) (1997)

01. Wrong (Trentemøller Club Remix) (2009)
02. World In My Eyes (Dub In My Eyes) (1990)
03. Fragile Tension (Peter Bjorn & John Remix) (2009)
04. Strangelove (Tim Simenon / Mark Saunders Remix) (1988)
05. A Pain That I’m Used To (Jacques Lu Cont Remix) (2005)
06. The Darkest Star (Monolake Remix) (2006)
07. I Feel You (Helmet At The Helm Mix) (1993)
08. Higher Love (Adrenaline Mix Edit) (2004)
09. Fly On The Windscreen (Death Mix) (1985)
10. Barrel Of A Gun (United Mix) (1997)
11. Only When I Lose Myself (Dan The Automator Mix) (1998)
12. Ghost (Le Weekend Remix) (2009)

01. Personal Jesus (Alex Metric Remix Edit) (2011)
02. Never Let Me Down Again (Eric Prydz Remix) (2011)
03. Behind The Wheel (Vince Clarke Remix) (2011)
04. Leave In Silence (Claro Intelecto ‘The Last Time’ Remix) (2011)
05. In Chains (Alan Wilder Remix) (2011)
06. When The Body Speaks (Karlsson & Winnberg Remix) (2011)
07. Puppets (Röyksopp Remix) (2011)
08. Tora! Tora! Tora! (Karlsson & Winnberg (from Miike Snow) Remix) (2011)
09. Freestate (Clark Remix) (2011)
10. I Want It All (Roland M. Dill Remix) (2011)
11. A Question Of Time (Joebot presents ‘Radio Face’ Remix) (2011)
12. Personal Jesus (Sie Medway-Smith Remix) (2011)